• Home
  • About Us
  • News & Press
  • 2018 AHS Book Awards
  • News & Press

    Announcing the recipients of the 2018 Book Awards

    2018 AHS Book Awards

    2018 AHS Book Awards

    Alexandria, VA (March 20, 2018). Over the last two decades, the American Horticultural Society (AHS) has recognized outstanding gardening books published in North America with its annual Book Award. Books are judged by the AHS Book Award Committee on qualities such as writing style, authority, originality, accuracy, and design quality. This year’s three award recipients, published in 2017, are:


    Bees: An Identification and Native Plant Forage Guide by Heather Holm (Pollination Press).

    This book packs in a wealth of practical and scientifically accurate information about North American native bee species and the plants that support them. Judges praised it for emphasizing and explaining the importance of plant-pollinator relationships in an accessible, useable format. 

    Floret Farm’s Cut Flower Garden by Erin Benzakein with Julie Chai (Chronicle Books).
    Home gardeners and small scale commercial growers alike will find all they need in this book to produce their own luscious cut flowers through the seasons. Judges found it worthy of recognition because it is an exemplary addition to the literature on the burgeoning “field-to-vase” movement that focuses on promoting locally and sustainably grown cut flowers.

    The Trees of North America: Michaux and Redouté’s American Masterpiece (New York Botanical Garden, published by Abbeville Press).
    Contemporary audiences can now experience the first illustrated floras of North American trees, created by European botanists in the 1800s. This elegant book impressed the judges with its unique combination of historical significance, horticultural relevance, and artistic excellence.

    The 2018 Book Award Committee was chaired by Mary Ann Newcomer, a garden communicator based in Boise, Idaho. Other members were: William Aldrich, past president and Fellow of GWA: the Association for Garden Communicators in Springfield, Missouri; Catriona Tudor Erler, a garden writer and book author based in Charlottesville, Virginia; Augustus “Jenks” Farmer, garden book author and plantsman based in the Columbia, South Carolina, area; Nancy Rose, horticulturist and recently retired editor of Arnold, published by the Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University in Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts; Brian Thompson, manager and curator of the Elisabeth C. Miller Library at the University of Washington Botanic Gardens in Seattle; and Deb Wiley, garden writer, editor, book project manager, and Fellow of GWA: the Association for Garden Communicators in Des Moines, Iowa.

    The 2018 Book Awards will be presented on Thursday, June 21 during the Great American Gardeners Awards Ceremony and Banquet at River Farm, the AHS’s national headquarters in Alexandria, Virginia. For more information about the awards, visit www.ahsgardening.org/awards.

    # # #

    The American Horticultural Society (AHS), founded in 1922, is an educational, non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to making America a nation of gardeners, a land of gardens. Its mission is to open the eyes of all Americans to the vital connection between people and plants, to inspire all Americans to become responsible caretakers of the Earth, to celebrate America’s diversity through the art and science of horticulture; and to lead this effort by sharing the Society’s unique national resources with all Americans.